You are here
Home > IN THE NEWS > How To Develop A New Breed Of Dog

How To Develop A New Breed Of Dog


According to the American Kennel Club, there are 187 dog breeds in the United States. From time to time, after meeting a stringent set of guidelines, new breeds are accepted into the club. The latest breeds to be recognized are the Sloughi and the American Hairless Terrier.

The first step in developing and registering a new breed of dog is to apply for membership to the Foundation Stock Service (FSS). This service maintains pedigrees and a studbook for new breeds, and allows member breeds to compete in performance events. The application requires a full history of the breed as well as a written breed standard and photographs of dogs from puppyhood to adult. Breeds must not be a variation of a currently registered breed (such as a different coat or color) and they must be recognized by an acceptable registry either in the United States or overseas.

When a breed is accepted into the FFS, fanciers then have some …

How To Develop A New Breed Of Dog

Leave a Reply

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :